Recommended for New Moms: What to Expect When You’re Expecting – The Book and The Movie

          

So, you’re going to be a mom either for the first time or for the 3rd time (like me) and whether you’ve experienced pregnancy before or not, picking up a baby book or two somehow becomes a part of the whole pregnancy experience.  When I received What to Expect When You’re Expecting, the book, I read it front to back, week-by-week, word for word.  This worked well the first time because there was nothing that I knew about being pregnant and I believed every word, even if I wasn’t experiencing the “pregnancy glow” or my baby seemed bigger the size of an “avocado”.  I was hooked.

Then came pregnancy #2…and #3.

When I was pregnant with my second child, I was on a flight to Africa to work with a former prenatal client to teach dance to children and teach classes about prenatal fitness as well as bootcamps for adults.  During my flight, What to Expect When You’re Expecting, The Movie, was one of the on demand options so I decided to give it a whirl.  For my 2nd pregnancy, this movie was exactly what I needed.  I’m a fitness buff who is a personal trainer by trade and yet, I was feeling quite unlike the fitness buff personal trainer, Cameron Diaz, in the movie and more like the woman who complained of constipation, gas and the chronic bloat of pregnancy.  Needless to say, I was in stitches for the entire flight and arrived in Nairobi feeling refreshed if not liberated by watching a movie that truly emulated how I was feeling as an uncomfortable pregnant woman.  In fact, on my flight home, I watched it again.  It was that good.

So do I recommend you read the book?  YES.  Do I recommend you watch the movie? YES.  Do both and have fun with it because whether you are having a dream pregnancy or one that you are literally counting the days until your child pushes out of your body, you’ll want someone to understand along the way without saying, “Cherish these moments.  They go by so quickly.”  Those words spell doom for anyone who says them to me…especially in my third pregnancy.

Happy reading and movie watching!

Available for Kindle and Paperback

Available for DVD

For more fun mom stuff and to connect with other Wonder Women who are mothers, visit: http://www.opalmom.com

Leave a Reply

