How to Get in a Workout When You Have Children Around

                      image

 

 

                                   photo courtesy of Rx Muscle

 

I first realized that my at-home workout ritual changed for good when my first child became mobile.  I was in my workout space that I had created and was about to begin my workout on a stability ball when I heard him crawl toward the ball, gurgles and all.  After a few attempts at trying to rush through my workout, I decided to get creative.

 Including Your Children In Your Workout

                  image

 

                        photo courtesy of Baby Fit Sparkpeople

 

While my son was too young to hop on a kiddie treadmill, I decided to make it fun by making him my weights that I lifted.  I would put him in the Ergo Baby Carrier, and do squats, lunges and monster walks with the band.  I would lie on my back and “bench press” him.  For cardio, I would strap him on my back and I would climb stairs at the local park.  I really REALLY got a good workout in then.

Let Them Play!

During in-home personal training sessions, I meet with other mothers who either work from home, are stay-at-home mothers, or like one particular client, is able to work from home 1 day a week.  During this time, her two sons and my daughter are present, but that doesn’t keep us from working out.  Instead, it allows us to connect!

IMG_9984

The children of course play with their own toys, but if one or more expresses an interest in what we are doing, then we include them in the workout.

901812_10203782930754186_6710290823780275342_o

My daughter plays (supervised) with safer workout equipment with my client’s son while his mother and I train during a personal training session.

 

Buy Them Their Own Toy Equipment              

 



 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Is your child too young for school but old enough to climb the walls while you workout?  Include them by buying them equipment so that they too can workout.  There is a great line of exercise equipment by Redmon available on Amazon that allows kids to walk on a foam treadmill, lift on a foam bench press, and even ride a stationary bike.   Melissa & Doug also has colorful activity cones on Amazon for fun drills that you can do with your child as well!  These creative toys can get them in the habit of exercising while finding it fun.

For more fun posts from my mommy blog, please visit http://www.opalmom.com!

Leave a Reply

