Want to Get Healthy? Reorganize Your Fridge!

Today, I made my first trip to The Container Store! I had hoped to walk in and walk out with just a few items but as you can imagine walking into a store like this as someone who appreciates organization left me with a few more items in my hands and I had anticipated.  Nevertheless, it was a very good trip. And as a result, I was able to organize my refrigerator for the kids the way I had intended in addition to a few other things around the house.

Items I purchased:

BPA Free Food Storage Containers

Buy from Amazon for $25

Umbra Square Crunch Can 

I bought this for my daughter’s room to pick up loose toys and stuffed animals.  The Umbra Crunch Can is durable as well as safe for those clumsy falls that inevitably happen with a toddler running about.

Buy from Amazon for $19.99

If your house is anything like mine, then efficiency is extremely important when it comes to packing lunches, snacktime, and having food available at the drop of a hat for hungry little mouths after school.  Since the birth of my third child, I’ve not had the opportunity to organize my refrigerator the way I had hoped to prior to his arrival. So after my jaunt to the container store, I came home and looked at the disarray that was my refrigerator. And I remembered, when I was a little girl, after each trip to the grocery store, it was my job to slice and dice all of the produce and put it into the appropriate Tupperware containers for easy access.  This was not a fun sure as it included chopping a 5 pound bag of carrots along with washing and drying every leaf of every head of Romain lettuce that was purchased for the week, however, it helps the entire family work more efficiently during the week.  So in short, in addition to helping my family, I’m turning into my father. Ha ha!

Organizing the refrigerator for children to be able to find their snacks is actually quite simple it’s just something that you have to keep up with every week. It’s definitely a commitment. But, it’s a commitment that I’m willing to make if it means saving myself 5 to 10 minutes in the morning or in the evening when it comes to preparing these foods for my children.

Here’s what I did:

1. Stock Up

I picked up a surplus of the produce items that my family enjoys knowing that by putting them in storage containers, they would stay fresher longer.

vegetablesfruit

2. Set Aside the Appropriate Containers

While shopping for produce, I made sure to match the right containers with the fruits and vegetables that I wanted so that they would not only fit, but match how I would normally store the original containers in my refrigerator.

organizes

3. Choose a Variety of Fruits and Vegetables

When I buy my produce, I am sure to choose the colors of the rainbow not only for variety, but also for the many benefits that come with eating fruits and vegetables that are rich in color.  Chop them up as you’d like and fill each container to the top.

chopped

4. Make These Foods Visible

Kids will choose snacks based on accessibility and visual appeal.  By choosing foods that are bright as well as nutritious, your child will most likely reach for these foods first.  Place these containers within reach so that they can easily grab a snack independently.

organizedfridge

My beautifully reorganized refrigerator

Leave a Reply

