No One Says You HAVE to Be a Pinterest Mom, So Stop Shaming Those of Us Who Are

20141105-070644-25604960.jpg
To the Pinterest mom’s of the world, I’m here to tell you that I’m on your side. With all the articles that have come out from others saying that they are not “Pinterest” mothers and that there should be no pressure to be one I wholeheartedly agree with you too. However, I wonder, is the pressure self imposed or are you really getting pressured from other mothers to keep up? I can tell you as a “Pinterest” mom myself, I’ve no expectation of you or other Pinterest mothers for that matter. I simply love what I do.

Being one of those mothers who does do projects that posts to Pinterest comes with it’s own set of challenges. In fact, I’ve have been on the receiving end of many a comment “you’re such an overachiever” or “you really don’t HAVE to do what you’re doing. You’re making the rest of us look bad!” I have many friends who do many Pinterest projects, lunches, etc. who have also received this type of feedback. There’s nothing wrong with the commentary that we’ve received, except for the fact that it goes against everything that women should be doing for each other. We should be supporting each other no matter what. Now, I’m not sensitive to these comments because I’m very confident in what I do and happy to do what I do simply because it’s a passion of mine to create. However, my post is simply to make a point. All mothers, creative or not, deserve support, love, and a big high-five for doing what they do whether you make cakes, pack lunches, go to work or simply fold laundry every day to do your part as a mother.

I’ll be the first to proudly admit that I am in fact, an overachiever, but I will also be the first to admit that sitting around without doing something extra beyond the very demanding job of being a mother makes a bat shit crazy. I absolutely adore making food in the faces, special cupcakes, and 5 million baked items just to see the smiles on my children’s faces when they see them for the first time. It’s just what I do in my style of being a mother. I read these blogs from others stating that they don’t HAVE to be Pinterest mothers and my response is this.

“I’ve got that covered. We’re a team here. Go do what you do best and be happy! Let’s come together instead of against each other as mothers and create something beautiful. A community.”

Www.opalmom.com

Leave a Reply

